South Africa works hard to beat United States in Super Eight at T20 World Cup

MLC stars Netravalkar, Khan, Patel aim to continue USA’s historic run at T20 World Cup Super8s

DALLAS: Team USA made history by advancing to the Super 8 stage of the 2024 International Cricket Council Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time in a decider in Broward County.

The U.S. advance over cricket powerhouse Pakistan has sent shockwaves around the world and is rallying Americans to rally behind their national team.

As the host nation making its World Cup debut, Team USA has captured the world’s attention. After convincingly defeating Canada in the opening match, the team also won against Pakistan in a thrilling super-over, which saw them finish second in Group A.

Major League Cricket’s leading players on Team USA are: Ali Khan, Nitish Kumar and Shadley Van Schalkwyk (Los Angeles Knight Riders); Steven Taylor, Nosthush Kenjige, Monank Patel and Shayan Jahangir (MI New York); Corey Anderson (San Francisco Unicorns); Harmeet Singh, (Seattle Orcas); Milind Kumar (Texas Super Kings); and Andries Gous, Saurabh Netravalkar and Yasir Mohammad (Washington Freedom).

With the USA facing South Africa, West Indies and England in Group 2 of the Super 8 round, MLC chief executive Vijay Srinivasan said the team’s progress to the next stage of the domestic World Cup was an incredible achievement.

“Congratulations to Team USA for giving us three thrilling games of cricket against the world’s best teams in their first World Cup appearance and earning their place in the Super 8s.

“This is a historic moment for sports, especially for our Major League Cricket players representing the USA. We hope it inspires boys and girls across the country to pick up a bat and ball this summer and encourages sports fans to attend an MLC game or tune in.

“The USA’s advancement to the Super 8 means they automatically qualify for the Men’s T20 World Cup in 2026, providing Major League Cricket with a strong platform for further growth.”

The MLC’s six teams—Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings and Washington Freedom—boast some of the world’s best international and domestic talent as they prepare to represent their countries at the World Cup.

All 47 MLC players who featured in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, listed by team, are:

Los Angeles Knight Riders

Ali Khan – USA

Nitish Kumar — USA

Shadley Van Schalkwyk — USA

Andre Russell — WI

Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh

David Miller – South Africa

Josh Little – Ireland

MI New York

Steven Taylor – USA

Nosthush Kenjige — USA

Monank Patel — USA

Shayan Jahangir — USA

Tim David – Australia

Nicholas Pooran – West Indies

Rashid Khan – Afghanistan

Kagiso Rabada – South Africa

Trent Boult – New Zealand

Anrich Nortje — South Africa

Romario Shepherd – West Indies

San Francisco Unicorns

Corey Anderson – USA

Matt Henry – New Zealand

Josh Inglis – Australia

Sherfane Rutherford – West Indies

Haris Rauf – Pakistan

Pat Cummins – Australia

Orcas in Seattle

Harmeet Singh – USA

Quinton de Kock – South Africa

Heinrich Klaasen – South Africa

Michael Bracewell – New Zealand

Ryan Rickelton – South Africa

Lunch McCoy – West Indies

Imad Wasim — Pakistan

Texas Super Kings

Milind Kumar – USA

Mitchell Santner – New Zealand

Devon Conway – New Zealand

Aiden Markram – South Africa

Daryl Mitchell – New Zealand

Naveen-ul-Haq – Afghanistan

Marcus Stoinis – Australia

Washington Freedom

Andries Gous – USA

Saurabh Netralvakar — USA

Yasir Mohammad — USA

Marco Jansen – South Africa

Akeal Hosein – West Indies

Glenn Maxwell – Australia

Travis Head – Australia

Lockie Ferguson – New Zealand

Rachin Ravindra – New Zealand

The second season of MLC starts on July 5.

Leave a Comment