Despite broad backing by EU leaders for Von der Leyen’s nomination, getting European Parliament’s nod is trickier

BRUSSELS – European Union leaders have agreed to nominate Germany’s Ursula von der Leyen for a second five-year term as president of the European Commission, the EU’s powerful executive body. At the summit in Brussels, the bloc’s 27 national leaders also chose former Portuguese Prime Minister Antonio Costa as the next president of their European Council meetings and Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas as the next EU foreign policy chief.

Leave a Comment